Weekend Writing Warriors 12/20/15 Something is brewing

Hi peeps, welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop that lets you sample a wide range of stories, published and unpublished. It’s a great way to find new interesting new authors 🙂

I’m changing my first chapter a little, after I said I wouldn’t 🙂 This bit refers to a conversation between Devorah, the POV character, and her friend Azura, that happened earlier in the chapter.

At the apartment, I threw some espresso beans into the grinder and tried to let the unbelievably rich smell soothe my nerves. Primo Italian espresso, vodka imported from Russia, an apartment that was a cross between a techie paradise and an antique shop—one day I’d have to ask Kazimir point-blank where he got his money. I drummed my fingers on the counter as the coffeemaker hissed and burbled. Something was brewing, all right, and it would be way less pleasant than the stuff in that carafe.

I replayed the conversation with Azura in my mind. The problem was that the angels would insist Kazimir and I try to find out more about that shakeup being planned at the top demon ranks before we did anything else. Crosser oath to keep the balance between Light and Dark in check, and all that. I wanted to do that, absolutely, but no more than I wanted answers about my father.

This excerpt is from my 2013 NaNo project with the working title Night Shift. I describe the novel this way: The POV character, Devorah, wants to find out why her father was killed; as police chief he had enemies but she believes it’s something more. But then comes news of something big the demons are planning and it’s up to Devorah and her mentor to find out what it is. As a Crosser, she’s sworn to do whatever it takes to keep the balance of power even between the forces of Light and of the Dark, but can she set aside her personal need to do that?

This story is still very much a work in progress and I plan to share bits of it with you as it gets refined into something marketable. It would be great to have you along for the journey! Thanks for reading today, and commenting if you’re so inclined.

Wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas and Happy Yule 🙂

17 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors 12/20/15 Something is brewing

  1. I love this line “Something was brewing, all right, and it would be way less pleasant than the stuff in that carafe.” I like how it wrapped back around to the coffee that the paragraph started with.

    And, good use of the senses, Marcia! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

