Weekend Writing Warriors 1/24/16: angel in denim

Well friends, it’s Sunday again and that means Weekend Writing Warriors are back. Be sure to visit the home page for this fun blog hop, where you’ll find links to a lot of pretty darn good writing excerpts!

My excerpt today takes place a few paragraphs after the previous one. Our heroine, Devorah, is talking to her mentor, Kazimir, explaining what she heard from one of her demon friends. The news is not altogether good although she does hear something she takes as a clue in her father’s unsolved murder. Devorah is the POV character. And she’s a demon too 🙂 (Barsukov is Kazimir’s last name. Adrael has a habit of referring to him that way)

I repeated a bit of the info then stopped when a patch of air to my left began to shimmer. “Oh good, Adrael needs to know this too.” 

The shimmering resolved itself into Adrael. Without wings and wearing denim, he was pretty far from a Christmas card angel. His resemblance to Liam Neeson still gave me a little flutter. He bowed his head toward both of us then laced his fingers together. “Blessings of the Most High be upon you, dear ones. I do hope that my visit finds each of you in good health and glad mood. I do very much apologize for this intrusion into your privacy, but I have been asked to request assistance from Mr. Barsukov in a matter with which he does have some familiarity.” 

Adrael is one of those characters whose speech pattern emerged intact when I wrote his very first scene. He annoyed me a little at first but then I got to enjoy it. Isn’t it interesting how some characters arrive in our heads fully assembled and others need tools and instructions? It’s that very difference that, to me, makes the art of writing so attractive. The easy characters are ones authors fall in love with right away; the difficult ones often take time to appreciate, though by the time we know them well, sometimes we want to give them a kick in the pants!

Thanks for dropping into my little blog. I always enjoy having visitors 🙂

14 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors 1/24/16: angel in denim

  1. Loved his speech. Very appropriate. To me, it seems like there is a layer of cold to it. It’s very composed, very direct and intentional. I can’t picture him ever raising his voice. He seems like the type that would throw carefully picked words and proper English at you and you’d still want to run home and hide. I love characters with good, strong dialogue. And, I’m a sucker for angels. I enjoyed this piece!

    Like

  2. Ed, Kim, Sophia, Christina, and Charmaine, thanks to all of you for visiting! I get a kick out of imagining Neeson in my scenes 😉 Sometimes, the characters lose patience with that long-windedness; when you’re discussing a potential Armageddon, you want to know what the guy really means!

    Like

  3. Haha! Liam Nesson? Yes, please. Seems you have a hit with that one! And I love his speech pattern.

    I think it’s really true what you wrote about some characters arriving intact, and others…no so much.

    Like

  4. Congratulations on Adrael arriving pretty full fledged as a character for you! That’s cool. OK, I’ll be the Devil’s Advocate here re Liam Neeson (who I do adore). Pegging your character to a certain actor works right now, because of types of roles he’s played but what if the actor then plays something totally “wrong” for your book, or offends the world and social media by doing something awful in real life? It also ‘dates’ the book because in a few years younger readers might not know who he is? Just inviting writerly discussion, I promise. I enjoy reading these snippets about Devorah, who I love! Best wishes…

    Like

    • Yeah, there’s pros and cons to mentioning specific people. I like having a little physical description, though there’s more than one way of sliding that in. Although at least I’m not having the POV character describe herself 😀 Thanks for visiting, Veronica. I’m very pleased you like Devorah.

      Like

  5. Far from a Christmas card angel… I love that description! Liam Neeson is great, too, but I agree with Veronica in that it can date your story. I’m curious as to why he has come. Anxious to read more. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

