Weekend Writing Warriors: How far back does the plan go?

If it’s the weekend, it must be time for Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop where writers share up to 10 sentences from an original work of theirs, published or unpublished. It’s a great way to find new writers or just spend a while reading the creative excerpts from our talented participants! You name the genre, and at least one of our writers will have something in it.

My post this weekend continues the scene from last time. Our heroine Devorah and her mentor Kazimir have been asked to capture the high-ranking demon known as Thaumiel. You can find previous excerpts here. The characters have heard that some kind of major upheaval is being planned at top levels of the demon hierarchy, and they’re worried that will be bad for humanity. Meanwhile, Kazimir looked up the website for the ecclesiastic conference that he expects will draw Thaumiel’s attention. That would offer the perfect opportunity to trap and capture him. Kaz grabs his phone leaving his laptop with Devorah. Margate is the fictional American city where the story takes place.

Kazimir exchanged some rapid-fire Russian chatter with whoever he’d called. I wondered about the conference. The group picked Margate because of the fighting that broke out around Halloween the last few years. A lot of people felt the violence was religiously motivated; it did seem to target Wiccans first. Had local demons started the yearly violence as part of whatever the coming shake-up was? Did the plan go back as far as that?

Kazimir’s voice got more animated as he talked around a big smile and gesticulated as if he was casting some spell. Finally he slapped the phone back on the table. “Otlichno! Kwame’s going to scoop up Vishram and they’ll join us in a day or two–they’re friends of mine from way back.” 

Oh good, I hear you saying. They’ll have help nabbing that evil demon! You know what they say about the best laid plans … 😉

I hope you’re enjoying the excerpts so far, and thanks for visiting. I always have fun writing these characters. But I’ve been thinking, it can be hard to convey in writing what I see in my head. Somebody needs to invent technology that will capture the visuals in my head and display them on a screen. That would be the bomb!!

17 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: How far back does the plan go?

  1. “…friends of mine from way back.” Well I bet they are interesting “friends’. Angels? Humans? Demons? 🙂 This is a great opportunity to show off some chemistry between characters. 🙂

    Like

    • Well, so far I don’t have much detail with those two. A little, but I’ve purposely kept the focus on the plot. But plot at the expense of characterization can lead to a less than interesting story; I’ll give that some thought. Thanks, Reesie.

      Like

    • Hey Cindy! Thanks so much, that’s what I was trying for. As I mentioned to Teresa, I need to think about ways to expand these two characters’ appearance in the story. See if I had that brain-to-screen technology, you could see what Vishram and Kwame look like and get a sense of their personalities even in the scenes I have so far. But, alas, LOL!

      Like

  2. So this Kwame guys dooesn’t sound Russian at all from the name so one wonders why he was speaking Russian to Kwame? Just a nit…always good ti have help. I like the details about why Margate has possibly been targeted and how long ago the plot may have been begun. Great snippet!

    Like

  3. I’m intrigued by this Margate place. It sounds like a galactic Old West kinda town, but that’s just me. I personally like your writing suggestion. It would come in handy for my story with the sisters hopping around on the hot floor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

