Weekend Writing Warriors: life is not black and white

Hello peeps. Happy spring, for those of you in the Northern Hemisphere! It’s always wonderful to be able to say it’s officially spring.

We’re back to another post for Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop where participants share up to 8 sentences of one of their own works, published or unpublished. It’s a fabulous way to find new writers and stories. 🙂

I’m continuing with excerpts from my work-in-progress, working title Night Shift. Devorah and her mentor Kazimir have been asked by the angels to capture the demon known as Thaumiel, who is high-ranking and therefore powerful. Kazimir phoned his friends Kwame and Vishram who agreed to help. Devorah has called Kaz out for contacting Crossers who no longer work with him; it’s normal procedure for Crossers not to contact each other once they move on. That makes it harder for demons to track down their enemies, the people known as Crossers. Kazimir is speaking first. You can find previous excerpts here.

“Life is not as black and white as the angels think. Vishram and Kwame know all the risks and next to me, they know Thaumiel best. I’ll find them a place to hole up in until we snag our Moby Dick then they’ll disappear. I’ve got to start planning and you can’t help me yet, so maybe go practice your water whip. But don’t fuck up my plumbing again.”

He picked up the Lenovo laptop and leaned back against the overstuffed pillows on the bed but didn’t open the computer. “You know, we have to start thinking about you moving to another apartment. In another building.”

Hmm, is he tired of her poor plumbing skills or is there another reason he doesn’t want her in the same apartment?

I’m sorry I didn’t respond to everybody who was kind enough to leave a comment on my last post. For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been dealing with a frantic co-worker who was convinced she had to save the whole world all by herself, and it had to be saved yesterday. This is a normally pleasant, unassuming woman who is so bad at prioritizing work and handling stress that she got snarly and swore a blue streak! Many of them!

Plus over the last couple of weeks, I was trying to sort out a bad situation with an online group. The moderators insisted that I had been given several warnings and unequivocally refused to listen when I told them my message box had nothing that could be construed as a warning, let alone several of them. But they said that a bunch of other members didn’t want to work with me anymore because I had a “pattern” of being disrespectful and defensive. They did not bother to explain why they didn’t kick me out sooner if so many people complained about me. There’s no point in staying in a group if members have a negative opinion of you, so I left.

I’d been a member of that site for nearly 4 years and had many very nice relationships in place. I enjoyed the site a lot and will miss it. So with that issue, my nutty co-worker, and having lost an hour of sleep with this silly time change, I’ve been emotionally exhausted.

I do however promise to return visits this week 🙂 I do appreciate visits and constructive comments. There’s too much meanness in the world and it’s very pleasant to pop on to this blog hop!

22 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: life is not black and white

  1. Doesn’t it suck when life gets in the way of writing? The other thing is- it gives you tonnes of material for designing your literary tribe 😉
    I am enjoying watching how you craft your dialogue. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Forget the nonsense from the other jerks. Two words for them at it ain’t Happy Birthday. You’re far too good a person to be involved with fools. I learned that long ago. Regarding your snippet, love your writing and the way you express yourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

