Weekend Writing Warriors: using Dark energy to heal

Well friends, sorry I missed posting last week. I’m back though to pick up sharing bits of my novel-in-progress (working title Night Shift) for Weekend Writing Warriors,Β the blog hop where writers share up to 10 sentences of their work for you, dear readers, to enjoy. Some is published, some not; some is romance or fantasy, others are historical or contemporary. But they’re all pretty darn good!

You can find previous snippets of Night Shift here. Devorah and Kazimir have left the synagogue which is now on fire, sadly 😦 She slugs him for something he did while they were still inside the building. This has the desired effect of making him collapse, but also has the undesired effect of making her hand feel like bones have cracked. Kazimir needs a minute or two to recover, as you might expect; they talk a bit, he notices she’s favoring her hand so he offers to help.

β€œThis the one you hit me with? I can fix it.”

He cradled my hand in both of his. That alone was marvelously warm, but then it got way warmer. A red glow with a pins-and-needles sensation spread over my hand on both sides. The prickling grew sharper and hotter as it sank below the surface. It creeped me out but the pain lessened. Just as I was about to pull myself free, the prickling and the glow quit.

He released my hand, smiling. β€œI get a kick out of using Dark energy to heal people.”

Neat trick, that–but it doesn’t come free. There might be more about that in a future excerpt.

April in my neck of the woods has not been overwhelmingly springlike so I flipped the calendar to May a day early πŸ™‚ I’m just going to pretend I’m on a tropical beach! How is spring shaping up where you are? And who else is watching playoff hockey??

15 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: using Dark energy to heal

  1. I like that he ‘gets a kick out of’ it. It makes him very undemon-like. πŸ™‚

    Spring was on a roll, sunshine and upper 60s, low 70s. Then the bottom fell out and we have low 50s, upper 40s, and rain. It’ll come back. πŸ™‚

    I’m not watching hockey, but am, keeping tabs on it since the Penguins made it to the second round. πŸ™‚ How about you?

    Like

  2. Oh dear, yes, I can just imagine there’s a price for being healed with dark energy – nice twist. And he didn’t exactly ask first or give her a choice! Excellent excerpt.

    Like

  3. Question: Is it really dark magic when it’s used to heal people?

    Answer (to your question above, not to mine): Not any longer, although I’ll keep tabs on the finals. My beloved Canucks didn’t make the playoffs and my second favorite Hawks got dumped in the first round. Sigh.

    Like

  4. I hope this healing doesn’t end up costing either of them too much.

    What spring? We just survived a blizzard in Wyoming, though I have ordered a STOP to all snow now that it’s May. We’re headed for Texas, so I’m optimistic. πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. Friends, thank you so much for your very wonderful comments! I will return visits though it might take me a couple days; this cold is proving hard to shake just like the chilly weather we’ve been having. Eventually both of those shall pass, I must simply grit my teeth and soldier on.

    Charmaine, if I could send you some healing, I surely would. I have to say though, you’re a better woman than me: all I had was a cold and I hardly did a thing all week, but you’re back online and as charming as ever. Bless you.

    Ed, don’t feel too bad about the Canucks, they have some solid talent and I’ll bet next year they do better.

    Christina, if that “stop” order does work, you must teach it to me. It would be invaluable in Western New York! πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Caitlin, Whitney, and Amy, thanks very much for visiting. I’m still catching up on a variety of tasks after losing most of last week to that (damned) cold. You’ll be seeing me on your blogs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

